They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old: Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn. At the going down of the sun and in the morning, We will remember them.

The sea of Poppy's at the Tower of London
The sea of Poppy’s at the Tower of London
from the Shard
from the Shard

poppy fields4

This post is a record of part of a busy day trip into London (Sunday 26/10/2014) The objective of the visit was to view the field of ceramic poppy’s in the moat of the Tower of London to remember the loss of life in the first world war. Although we arrived a bought 9am on Sunday morning the number of people viewing the sea of red was starting to build. This simple yet cleaver memorial is a once in a lifetime spectacle. Later in the day a visit to the viewing platform near the top of the Shard gave a birds eye view across the  River Themes as the sun started to set and I thought of the poppy’s and the words we know too well, “When you go home, tell them of us and say for their tomorrow, we gave our today.”

London 081

Published by

Andrew Finnegan

I enjoy visiting the coast and am working on seeing all the coast of the UK and over the past couple of year have been recording my camper van coastal tour in my blog I also blog places I visit which which you may also enjoy seeing . Aim of my blog is a Photo overview. (I am happy for my pictures to be used by other's but I will retain copyright and would request you ask prior use of any picture if using pictures on line please add a link to my blog)

2 thoughts on “They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old: Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn. At the going down of the sun and in the morning, We will remember them.”

  1. Wonderful photos of a very beautiful memorial, to all the men who gave their lives for us including my uncle…James Martin 21, so young, but so proud of him 🙂

Leave a Reply

