Wedding Bells and War Graves

St.Nicholas Parish Church Brockenhurst is noted in both the Doomsday Book and on my marrage certificate it is said to be the oldest church in the New Forest. Some Saxon herring bone masonry is situated in the Nave. The South doorway is Norman. The Church was enlarged in Victorian times. The Churchyard boasts a fine Yew Tree near the South entrance porch which is estimated at over 1000 years of age.

During WW1 due to railway connections from Southampton Docks and several large houses Brockenhurst was in 1915 chosen by the War Office to become a Hospital Centre In 1916 Indian hospital beds were replaced by New Zealand casualties. The Hospital remained until 1919. Over 100 New Zealand Soldiers are remember in the lower end of the Churchyard.

Church note to Yew Tree on left in picture
Church note to Yew Tree on left in picture
New Zealand CWGC memorial
New Zealand CWGC memorial
grave
grave
grave
grave

Brusher Mills

Published by

Andrew Finnegan

I enjoy visiting the coast and am working on seeing all the coast of the UK and over the past couple of year have been recording my camper van coastal tour in my blog I also blog places I visit which which you may also enjoy seeing . Aim of my blog is a Photo overview. (I am happy for my pictures to be used by other's but I will retain copyright and would request you ask prior use of any picture if using pictures on line please add a link to my blog)

2 thoughts on “Wedding Bells and War Graves”

  1. The church looks good in b&w, went there many years ago, its a beautiful little church. We got married in Hythe Church, which also has some small parts of the saxon church left đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

