(Visits and Trips of Yesterday) DURSEY ISLAND CABLE CAR

As the weather changes I am sorting through some old photo’s and thought I would post some spots of interest of past holidays. Dursey Island is situated on SW   tip of the Beara Peninsula in the West of  County Cork Eire  Dursey Island is a narrow island about 6 km long. The island is separated from the mainland by a narrow stretch of water called Dursey Sound with a strong tidal race,. The island has about 6 permanent residents. The island is connected to the mainland by Ireland’s only cable car. There are no shops on the island . The small cable car runs in the summer for trippers, 1/2 way across I was not sure to be reassured or fearful of the small bottle of Holly Water I found hanging in the gondola Close to the cable car station on the headland at Crow Head is a WW2 memorial plaque remembering  the crew of  a German Junkers 88 that crashed in July 1943 killing all on board. Even this quiet corner of Eire was touched by world war.Cable Car to Dunskey Island Acable CCrow Head downed Ju88

Published by

Andrew Finnegan

I enjoy visiting the coast and am working on seeing all the coast of the UK and over the past couple of year have been recording my camper van coastal tour in my blog I also blog places I visit which which you may also enjoy seeing . Aim of my blog is a Photo overview. (I am happy for my pictures to be used by other's but I will retain copyright and would request you ask prior use of any picture if using pictures on line please add a link to my blog)

4 thoughts on “(Visits and Trips of Yesterday) DURSEY ISLAND CABLE CAR”

Leave a Reply

