crossing the waters

Day 10 Left Kintyre from Tarbert crossing the end of Loch Fyne to Portavadie then drive through timber forests on single track roads to Dunoon passing Holy Loch an ex WW2 and cold war submarine safe water and base. Then another ferry to Gourock, with its WW2 Free french war memorial cross on the hillside. Then fast roads along the coast to Stranraer. Stopping at Dundonald Castle and Crossraguel Abbey ( the abbot was roasted alive here by a knight!) on route. Picked up some more hot smoked salmon at another smokery and some fresh dug” tatties” as they call them here from a farm shop. Large Russian bronze memorial  A bronze cross on the coast of the Firth of Clyde to mark the spot where the warship Varyag ran aground more than 80 years ago.

 

Spotted Eider Duck’s and Black Guillemot’s  toay

Published by

Andrew Finnegan

I enjoy visiting the coast and am working on seeing all the coast of the UK and over the past couple of year have been recording my camper van coastal tour in my blog I also blog places I visit which which you may also enjoy seeing . Aim of my blog is a Photo overview. (I am happy for my pictures to be used by other's but I will retain copyright and would request you ask prior use of any picture if using pictures on line please add a link to my blog)

2 thoughts on “crossing the waters”

  1. Just catching up on what you’ve been doing the last 3 days all at once. Sounding like a great trip. Keep posting!

Leave a Reply

